Login to your dashboard
Add to Calendar

Firebird – Master Series 9

1 Nov - 2 Nov
@ Adelaide Town Hall
Firebird – Master Series 9

A feather-touch on a single string can create magic. Natsuko Yoshimoto, ASO’s Concertmaster, plays the Romantic, ever-popular First Violin Concerto of Max Bruch. She is joined by Karina Canellakis from New York – herself a fine violinist, and now highly sought as a conductor.

Enchantment or sleep-deprivation? Mozart wrote the music of the ‘Haffner’ Symphony late at night to an unrealistic deadline. When he revisited it sixth months later, he couldn’t remember a note, but was delighted to find it a sparkling, effervescent work.

Stravinsky’s vivid 1910 ballet score begins in shadow. Ivan is bewitched as he enters the garden of evil King Kashchei. But when The Firebird appears, the spell of darkness is broken, and the finale is simply dazzling.